CRAZIEST THINGS I’VE DONE

Have you ever sat down and thought about the « craziest things you’ve done » in your life? For each person, it’s different. I never thought I’d write this article and share with everyone that reads my blog, what I’ve done. I know some will find it very stupid what I’ve done, but I find it hilarious.

v My cousins and I decided to go to church one Sunday morning. Frankly, we don’t have the habit to go there. So we woke up early that morning and got ready. We were 4 girls, and I was the youngest at that time. You know how girls love to look their best. Our hairs were perfectly done, tons of make-up, short dresses, and can’t forget the high heels. We had no idea which church exactly we wanted to go to. We left the house looking like top models LOL! My cousin said we’ll go to any church we see on the way. There was this place which we heard people singing church songs. We couldn’t see the name of the church. Anyway we entered the gate, and marched in the church. I guess our high heels made too much noise when we entered. The preacher who was giving a sermon, stopped, his mouth dropped open. The others in the church turned around and stared at us. The four of us just froze like statues not knowing what to do. My other cousin whispered, for us to sit down quickly. As I looked around, I noticed that the other women wore long dresses, no make- up, and looked very simple and plain. The covered their heads with a cloth or a scarf. The strangest thing was that the women and men were separated. They sat on different sides. What made it worse we sat on the wrong side. Yep on the men’s side. A lot weren’t concentrating anymore. LOL! There was a moment they started howling, crying, saying incomprehensible things, and some even was beating their chest very hard. The four of us looked at each other. We’re probably thinking the same thing: are we suppose to do that too? We couldn’t stay in that church any longer. We got up slowly and walked out quickly. When we got out the gate their were some guys across the streets shouting things like: “Wow, if that’s what the girls look like in that J.M. church I’ll go there too.”

v People say that “amalona” which is an eel, is delicious. I never tried that before, and had no clue how to cook it. There were no adults at home except us kids. A seller passed by and we bought a medium size eel. So I asked my cousin to kill it. She told me to boil water. It didn’t take her long to come back. She said that it wasn’t her first time to cook an eel. She told me to drop it in the boiling water. A few seconds after I put the eel in the boiling water, and covered the pan. The lid flew off; the eel stood up like a cobra. The eel and I was looking at each other. I was terrified. We ran out the house screaming. I almost fell off our balcony. We didn’t dare to go back in right away. I asked her how she killed it. She told me that she strangled it the best as she could.

v There was a time, most of the girls here in Tana, dyed their hairs. I wanted to dye my hair too. So I went to a hairdresser, and she dyed all my hair a violet color. It looked nice on me, especially when it’s sunny outside. The color became more gorgeous. I really loved it. As months passed, my hair color changed into an ugly brownish color. I was pissed off. I went back to the hairdresser, and asked her advice about my hair. She told me that I have two choices: recolor it black again but it might turn brownish again later on or cut it. I told her to cut it as short as possible. Each time, she’d ask if I like how short cut it. I wasn’t satisfied, so kept telling her to cut it shorter, because I didn’t want to see the brown color anymore. She looked at me and said, I’m sorry but there’s no more hair to cut anymore. I didn’t freak out to see myself bald with little hair left. My scalp was visible. I thanked her and put my hat on and went home. When I got home, I yelled: Look at my new hair cut. There was nothing but silence. I got tried staying home waiting for my hair to grow back. One day I decided to go to town Analakely, and walk around. I wore baggy jeans, and a large t-shirt, sneakers and no hat. I wanted to show everyone that I’m not ashamed of being a bald girl. People were starring, and asking each other if I was a boy or a girl. I didn’t look ugly, cute in a way. They were confused what I really was because no girl will cut their hair that short, but the face looked girlish. The good thing is I got my natural colored black hair back.

v I always wanted to have a nose ring. I went to a store that pierces noses and ears. The man who was in charge of it, left eye was a whitish color. So it was his right eye that really worked. When he showed me the nose rings, which had pretty colorful stones. I liked it but, the nose was too big. I asked for a smaller one. He told me that for the first time, I have to use this huge nose ring. After one month I can change it to any I like. Ok I agreed. I was worried that the man couldn’t see well the spot to put the nose ring. It was quick and not painful and the right spot. My nose ring was looked like a closed rose, with a stone in it. On the bus, people were starring at my nose. A person asked me if it was real. I said yes. She asked if it was painful and heavy. I said no. When a month passed I went to buy my smaller nose ring. Months passed it started to annoy me, especially when I have a cold. I don’t like taking it off and putting it on. The side where the nose ring was started to swell. I had to take it off before my nostrils weren’t the same size anymore. Months and years passed I’m grateful the hole where the nose ring closed up. My nose looks normal again.

v I like going to the countryside. The life in the city and over there is so different. During the vacation time, we go the countryside. We entered a house, precisely the kitchen. There was smoke everywhere. They make a wood fire to cook their food. The family was just sitting their in the smoke, like it was nothing. I was choking and gasping for breathe. My eyes were stinging, and became red. I was blowing my nose every minute. They just laugh. We went there in the rainy season. I didn’t want to stay inside all day, especially in the smoky kitchen and not do anything. I decided to follow them to visit to go to the nearest market. To get there, you have to go through a vast rice paddy. The path was so narrow and slippery from the rain. They asked me if I know how to walk through a rice paddy. Of course I told them. They told me to take my shoes off, because it would be very slippery, and I fall in the rice. I had no choice and I did. The ground was squishy and cold. I didn’t want to go first, so I went last. The others had no trouble go through it. I could hardly move. My knees were weak and I was trembling. Who knows how deep the water that covered the rice is. I didn’t want to fall in it. Each time I take a step, I slip a little. Sorry it was difficult to keep my balance in this slippery path. They were already on the other side; here I was stuck in the middle of the rice paddy. It was getting dark. They called me to hurry up, I couldn’t move. Great, I thought to myself: here I am stuck and it’s dark. I’m not afraid of the dark. It’s that I’m night blind. What can be worse? They told me to wait for them there until they came back from the market. There I was alone. When I heard an owl hoot. I got goose bumps and my heart was beating so hard. I’ll let you imagine how I got out of there.

There were just some of the “craziest things I’ve done” that I’ll never forget. I didn’t regret any of it. Life will be dull, if we don’t spice it a little.

4 thoughts on “CRAZIEST THINGS I’VE DONE

  1. loOoOol
    Oh my, I found them so hilarious too
    I’m glad I’m home. Imagine, if I were at a cybercafé laughing alone like I’m just doing right now…

  2. OMG…i’ve been laughing so many times and for quite a long moment alone at à cyber café with all eyes on me … muahaha … on the bus too 😀

  3. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

